Unlicensed Teenage Driving!!!!!

Goal-Oriented Parenting

teenage driving

I was recently presented with the issue of an unlicensed young adult driving a friend’s car. This particular youth is under my care and partial supervision; they are 18 now. At a holiday function, my youth proclaimed to the family, “I’ll drive!”

As soon as the words fell from their lips, I spoke up and said, “you DON’T have a drivers license“, to which their uncle responded, “DON’T do it, driving without a license is not good”. The youth, then responded, “ok, well who is going to drive then”. You see this youth has been “driving under the radar” for some time now. Neither parent was aware that our youth was doing this. So, what can be done? What can I do for my determined, yet, not truly convinced about conventional responsibility, youth?

teenage driving2

I think to myself and come to the decision that, I am REQUIRED to protect my children and youth while providing them with the tools that they need to succeed and produce positively in life. So if I am doing what is right, then I am obligated to help them achieve “LEGAL DRIVING” status. I write this because this particular youth I did not birth. As I am somewhat of a self-proclaimed disciplinarian, I tend to lead with the “long arm of the law” when it comes to getting my household in line.

This approach, especially when dealing with youth, who have been left to their own devices for a good part of their life, can be met, more often than not, with EXTREME resistance. Well….. SO BE IT! I will shutdown all avenues of unlicensed driving privileges by any means necessary, including – but not limited to talking to parents of friends and family soliciting and securing their support. The end result will be a clear path to Drivers Ed class online for $28.50 and Drivers Testing for $25 (check your local DMV for your state fees). It’s such a small price to pay for independence and one additional step closer to responsible living and maturity. Even though they may like, or even treasure the path of least resistance, it can sometime lead to illegal, dangerous and irresponsible choices, decisions and continued dependence. A little bit of consistent, unrelenting discipline goes a long way to getting and keeping your youth on the path that is positive and right.

I welcome your comments and experiences!

Discipline (training expected to produce a specific character or pattern of behavior) is the healthy alternative to lenience.”

Leave a Reply

